Greyhound latest: Ballinabola Ed stars in English Greyhound Derby, Round Three

Pat Buckley trained Ballinabola Ed starred in Round Three of the Star Sports and TRC English Greyhound Derby on Saturday night, clocking a stand-out time of 29.12 in Heat Seven.

The ante-post favourite trapped level with fellow qualifiers Aussie Captain and Bobsleigh Dream before an impressive turn of foot down the backstraight built up a margin sufficient enough to register a four-and-three-quarter length win.

Star Sports have since installed Ballinabola Ed as the 7/4 favourite to win the English Greyhound Derby Final on Saturday, June 25.

Second favourite Lautaro (6/1) meanwhile was involved in a thrilling Heat Six which was won by Diane Henry’s Savana Beau.

Savana Beau trailed long-time race leader Signet Denver by three-and-a-half lengths off the final bend in fourth but produced an extraordinary late run to beat Lautaro by a short head. Signet Denver finished a further short head behind in third.

Singalong Sally was another of the English Greyhound Derby’s ante-post market leaders to register another win during Round Three. Pat Buckley’s two-year-old bitch bettered her previous week’s win by clocking 29.24 in Heat Four from Signet Ace.

There was an upset in the same race as 2021 English Greyhound Derby winner Thorn Falcon was knocked out when finishing fifth behind qualifier Derrinasafa Boss and fourth-placed Glengar Scholar.

Earlier in the card, the exciting Kildare couldn’t follow up on his eye-catching Round Two win when Kilkenny Santy won Heat One by a length-and-a-half from Deelish Frankie.

Cape Cloud reversed his form with the well-supported Mickys Barrett in Heat Five when clocking 29.38. It marked a third Towcester success in five races for Peter Cronin’s two-year-old, with Saturday’s effort being his fastest to date.

There were also wins on the night for Ballymac Fairone, Signet Goofy and Global Vision.

The Star Sports & TRC English Greyhound Derby returns to action on Saturday night when the quarter finals start at 7.10pm – racing begins at 6.04pm. To view the full draw, please see below.

Quarter Final 1

Trap One – Kildare

Trap Two – Global Vision

Trap Three – Signet Ace

Trap Four – Cape Cloud

Trap Five – Coppice Fox

Trap Six – Priceless Jet

Quarter Final 2

Trap One – Ballymac Fairone

Trap Two – Aussie Captain

Trap Three- Hello Hammond

Trap Four – Deelish Frankie

Trap Five – Ballinabola Ed

Trap Six – Faughan Rebel

Quarter Final 3

Trap One – Bobsleigh Dream

Trap Two – Make Noise

Trap Three – Signet Denver

Trap Four – Romeo Magico

Trap Five – Derrinasafa Boss

Trap Six – Lautaro

Quarter Final 4

Trap One – Savana Beau

Trap Two – Kilkenny Santy

Trap Three – Ballymac Belvult

Trap Four – Singalong Sally

Trap Five – Signet Goofy

Trap Six – Mickys Barrett

Photo: Jim Tate